How much will a DUI in Mississippi cost?
That’s a question everyone wants to know but there is really no set answer. But it’s probably going to be a lot. First you have the mandatory fine. For a first offense it’s a minimum $250 all the way up to $1,000. For a second offense it’s from $600 to $1,500. But that’s just the tip of the iceberg. You’ll have court costs, and these vary from county to county, but you can expect these to be at least $500 or so, much more if the case goes to trial. You may be ordered to install an ignition interlock device, which can be hundreds of dollars. You may have fees associated with probation, and you will have to pay a license reinstatement fee to get your driver’s license back. Then there is insurance. Insurance can be a huge cost of a DUI conviction, totaling thousands of dollars in premiums as a high-risk driver.
These are some of the direct, known costs of a DUI conviction in Mississippi. But there are additional, unknown costs. Collateral costs as I like to call them. One of the biggest will be on your career. In many professions you could very likely be facing a demotion or even termination. Additionally, you’ll find it difficult to get a similar job in your field. Consider all the lost income, and you’ll probably agree that this is the biggest cost of a DUI.
Hiring a Southaven DUI Lawyer
How much does a DUI lawyer in Mississippi cost? This another question everyone is asking but you won’t find many answers on the internet. It really depends on the location and complexity of the case, and how far it goes (early settlement vs. trial). You may end up paying an initial fee to your attorney then more later as the case works its way through the court. Generally, as an initial fee, you’ll probably be paying at least a couple thousand to your attorney at first. If it goes to trial it will be a lot more.
As you can see DUIs are expensive. You can help yourself by hiring an experienced, competent Mississippi DUI attorney. While this may be expensive, it will be worth it if it means you keep your job.
Click here to read Southaven DUI Law Articles on Mississippi Non-Adjudication and Expungement